Summit County residents can purchase dog licenses through Jan. 31. The cost for a single-year license is $18, a three-year license is $54, and a permanent license is $180. If a lost dog is brought to Summit County Animal Control wearing a license tag, staff can find the owner quickly and reunite the family and pet. If a citizen finds a lost dog and it is wearing a license tag, they can go to “Kristen’s Kanine Search” on the county website, type in the license number and find the dog owner’s information.
“We offer several convenient ways to purchase a 2024 dog license. Pet owners can pay online, by mail or in-person at one of 19 neighborhood locations, including local license bureaus, pet shops and hardware stores,” said Summit County Fiscal Officer Kristen M. Scalise. “A county dog license will provide legal proof of ownership and keep you in compliance with Ohio law.”
The Ohio Revised Code requires citizens who own, keep or harbor a dog more than three months of age to purchase a county dog license. Kennel owners must also renew their licenses during the same time period; the cost is $80 per license. Citizens who fail to meet the Jan. 31 deadline will be required to pay an $18 late fee.
To apply for a dog license, find additional locations or to purchase a license, visit fiscaloffice.summitoh.net/index.php/dog-licensing or call 330-630-7226. ∞