The Grapevine

Joey Mousty, Independence High School Class of 2021, has been named to the president’s list at Cleveland State University, which is reserved for students who take more than the average semester course load and maintain an exceptional grade point average. 

Mallory MacRaild, Independence resident and sophomore at Hathaway Brown School, qualified for the State Diving Meet in her second season on the team. The swimming and diving team have won back-to-back State Titles in Division II.

Madison Stepanik and Alexandra Leffler, both of Independence, were named to the dean’s list for the 2023 fall semester at Youngstown State University.

Zachary Barther, of Independence, has been named to the 2023 fall trimester dean’s list at Palmer College of Chiropractic’s Florida Campus in Port Orange, Florida.

Ohio University College of Business student Liv Michota, of Independence, was named to Ohio University’s fall 2023 president’s list.

Independence native Sam Mason was named to the Ohio University College of Arts and Sciences fall 2023 provost’s list.

Multiple Independence natives were named to Ohio University’s 2023 fall dean’s list: Jacob Del Valle, Ashley Exl, Megan Fink, Billy Johnson, Adam Liebal, Aaron Ramm, Sophia Tokich and Kana Wisniewski.

Landon Jatsek, an Independence High School senior, and IHS junior Sam Crooks were both given an honorable mention for the 2024 Division III Boys Basketball All-Ohio Teams. ∞