Redinger, Caruso re-elected as council leaders

by Kathleen Steele Gaivin

Jan. 3 city council organizational meeting

Brecksville City Council began 2023 by electing its officers for the year. Laura Redinger was re-elected as city council president, with Dominic Caruso re-elected as vice president.

“Thank you for your confidence in me, and I’ m looking forward to another great year,” Redinger said.

Council confirmed the following appointments to the city’s boards and commissions:

  • Dominic Sciria as a citizen member to the planning commission for a five-year term.
  • Thomas Collin as a citizen member to the board of zoning appeals for a five-year term.
  • Marie Pachnowski as a citizen member to the design and construction review board for a three-year term.
  • Dr. Felix Martin to the human services advisory board for a five-year term.
  • Brant Giere, Doug Hubert and Daniel Prendergast to the board of tax review.
  • Robert G. Stiefvater as a citizen member to the civil service commission for a six-year term.

Additionally, council members Daryl Kingston and AJ Ganim will serve as council representatives to the volunteer firemen’s dependents board for a one-year term.

“Let’s hope you never meet,” Mayor Jerry Hruby told Kingston and Ganim.

City council authorized the mayor to enter into a collective bargaining agreement with the Ohio Patrolmen’s Benevolent Association representing the Brecksville Police Department patrol officers.

Lastly, council voted to continue the salary of a service department employee who was injured on the job on Dec. 13. The mayor recommended, and council approved, a continuation of wages from Dec. 21-27.

“He has been seeking treatment and soon will be returning to work,” Hruby said. ∞