Students in the News

Eighteen Brecksville-Broadview Heights High School students were recently inducted into the local chapter of the National Art Honor Society. Sponsored by the National Art Education Association, the NAHS recognizes high school students for demonstrating exemplary art scholarship, strong character, and dedication to service in the school community.

The newest members of the BBHHS chapter include Ava Belleville, Ben Brobst, Kendall Brown, Allie Geduldig, Chloe Grayson, Labiba Ibnath, Cat Iltchev, Kaya Konopa, Hanbee Lee, Hana Mazak, Cate O’Connor, Kara Sabo, Meghan Schuster, Leah Spacek, Soren Spuckler, Karis Sung, Jennifer Sycz and Demetra Wendland.

Several BBHHS athletics teams advanced into post-season action of interscholastic competition this fall, including the boys’ golf team which advanced to the district tournament for the first time since 2018. The team was one of the top-four teams in the sectional tournament.

The team was coached by Greg Roderick and led by seniors Jaden Bibbo, Mark Sowers and other qualifiers Leo Carey, Tyler Pickard and Preston Kieschnik.

The girls tennis team, coached by
Dan Reynolds and Beth Smith, also qualified a doubles team consisting of Claire Martens and Cat Iltchev to the district tournament.

Inside the Makerspace at BBHHS, students are provided opportunities to engage in a wide range of exciting STEAM-based learning activities.

Fourth- and fifth-grade students recently applied the classroom concepts of speed, friction, gravity and motion to complete the challenge of constructing a car that could travel down an eight-foot ramp with the fastest time.

Using the engineering design process, students used Legos or K’nex pieces to construct their cars. Under the guidance of teacher Caleb Bihari, students then recorded the time it took for their car to reach the bottom of the ramp and converted it to miles per hour. For the next phase of the project, students raced in a spirited head-to-head competition, with the winning car from each class moving on to the next round. Bihari then collected the winning cars and raced them to crown the overall fourth- and fifth-grade champions. ∞