Summit County Fiscal Officer Kristen M. Scalise CPA, CFE announced that second half 2021 real estate tax bills were mailed beginning June 10. The closing date for payment is July 22, with the exception of military personnel. Property taxes are deferred for military reservists who are on active duty. Call 330-643-2641 or visit for an application.

There are several ways for property owners to make payment:

  • In-person: Payments can be made in-person at the Summit County Fiscal Office, Treasurer Division, third floor of the Ohio Building, 175 S. Main St., Akron. Office hours are 7:30 a.m.-4 p.m., Monday through Friday.
  • By mail: Payments must be U.S. postmarked by July 22 to avoid the 10% penalty for late payment.
  • Online or by phone: Taxpayers will need their parcel number on hand. A nominal service fee will be charged by ACI Payments, Inc. if paying via debit or credit card, or a $1 fee if paying via electronic check. To pay taxes online or by phone, go to
  • Drop box location: Submit tax payments using the drop box located on the fourth floor of the Ohio Building at 175 S. Main St. in downtown Akron during regular business hours, Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m.-4 p.m.
  • At banks that participate in the regional tax collection system: A list of participating banks is included on the tax bill. Please note the bank branch must be located in Summit County.

The Tax Installment Program is available to assist those who are unable to pay their bill in full by the due date. Homeowners who enroll in this program can avoid late payment penalties. To be eligible, all taxes and assessments must be current. The deadline to sign up for TIP is July 22. Call 330-643-2869 to enroll now.

The Fiscal Office continues to offer various programs to assist homeowners with delinquent taxes. If you have fallen delinquent, call 330-643-2600 for more information.

To request a copy of your tax bill, please call 330-643-2588. Tax bills can also be downloaded from ∞