Revere finalizes partnerships for College Credit Plus program

by Sheldon Ocker

March 15 board of education meeting

The Revere Board of Education approved a memorandum of understanding to partner with the University of Akron and Stark State College in the College Credit Plus program.

Revere seniors who participate in the program can take university-level courses and receive both college and high school credit. Some classes are conducted at Revere, others on the campuses of Stark State and Akron, and several are offered online.

The school district pays the tuition fees. In the case of Stark State, the cost is $46.64 per semester credit hour for classes given at the high school and taught by an approved high school teacher; $51.64 per semester credit hour for online courses conducted by college instructors; $82 per semester credit hour for classes at the high school taught by college faculty members and $118 per semester credit hour for classes taken on college campuses.

Tuition for the University of Akron courses will be determined through an Ohio Department of Higher Education formula.

Revere earlier approved a memorandum of understanding with Kent State University.

Photo op

The board approved a three-year contract with Ripcho Studio of Cleveland to take student photos in grades K-12.

Photographs will include student bag tags, sticker sheets and sports team pictures. The agreement does not cover yearbook pictures, student activities, sports memory mates or senior portraits.

 In other action

  • The board approved the hiring of Mark Uhrich as head volleyball coach and Emery Li as volunteer coach for the lacrosse team.
  • Bath Volunteers for Service made four donations: $500 to the Revere Guidance-Active Minds, $122 to the Revere Gaming Club, $500 to Revere PANDA and TI, and $100 to Revere Guidance-career, college career and military planning.
  • Melinda and Stephen Morris donated $300 to the Revere lacrosse team.
  • Four members of the Revere Student Assistant Committee received $1,082 from an Ohio school Wellness grant (from Miami University) as part of the Ohio School Wellness Initiative. The recipients are: Beth D’Amico, Robert Richardson, Emily Rion and Paul Warnock. ∞